Things have been insane for the past week or so. Last Sunday, I had plans to get up early and go for a run, and then meet my sister at church by 10:30. The goal was to wake up around 7:00. The reality was that I woke up around 6:15 to the sound of barking dogs. We have two great dogs. A husky/boxer mix named Lucy and a husky/black lab named Laika. Obviously not small dogs, as you can see below.

Lucy, our husky/boxer

Lucy, our husky/boxer

and Laika, the husky/black lab

and Laika, the husky/black lab

They’ve both got wonderful personalities, and they’re just all around great dogs. The one problem, they like to dig. So back to my Sunday morning story.

Laika was barking, which woke me up. When she wouldn’t stop after a minute or two, I looked out our bedroom window to see her standing beside the fence, barking at Lucy, who was standing just outside the fence. Needless to say, I quickly got Lucy into the garage and tried to find and fix where she had gotten out. And of course, this would happen on a morning where Nate was already at work, so I had to deal with it all alone. I found where she had gotten out- a hole she had dug at the bottom of the fence right beside a gate. She had pushed the gate open just enough that she could squeeze through at the bottom where her hole was. I put some big rocks there, and let her back out. Just a few minutes later, I decided to check again, and once again, she was out. I got her in the garage again and then went out to fix the fence. She had dug beside the rocks, and was doing the same thing again. I took an extension cord and used that to tie up the gate so that she couldn’t push it open. Haha… this dog was persistent.

I thought I had her, at least until Nate could call me back with some ideas, but as I was standing in the garage, about to take her back out to the yard, I heard scratching on the garage door… Laika was out, and she just wanted to be with Lucy. Again, I fixed it, the neighbor came over to tell me they were out, I put them in the garage, fixed it, put them back out, cleaned up the garage, they were out again, lather, rinse, repeat. This went on for about 5 hours, until they decided to take a nap. I siezed the opportunity and went to buy some tie outs. Which I couldn’t get into the ground. Uughhhh!

When Nate got home, his cousin came over to help him put poles in to keep them from getting out the same ways again. The next day, they just dug new holes. We tried pepper, hot sauce, metal spikes in the ground (think tent stakes, but made of metal), electric collars, the tie outs (which worked, until they found a way to tangle themselves up in them. Nothing was working. Finally, we have an electric fence. I hate it. I really do. But I know that getting hit by a car would be worse, and where we live, unfortunately, if they get out, that will be the end result.

Anyway, somewhere in there, I had gone out to check on them, and Lucy jumped up, wanting to play. Instead, she hit me in the mouth and chipped one of my front teeth. I’m going to the dentist on Monday. It’s really not bad at all- just the very tip. I tried to take a picture, but it really isn’t showing in the picture. That’s how minor it is. Still, it bothers me.

Then my mom called me to help her with a wedding cake, so for the past two days, that’s what I’ve been doing. I have known for ages how to decorate cakes- I grew up watching Mom, and even though she never officially “taught” me, I just kinda picked it up naturally the first time I tried. But the one thing I have never been able to do was roses, and I told her a while back that I wanted to learn. So that’s what I did. She sent me home with all of the leftover icing so that I could practice my roses a little more. So this morning, that’s just what I did. I wasn’t up to making a cake for it, so I just used a paper towel. Still, not tooooo bad.

Just playing around to see what I could do.

Just playing around to see what I could do.

I sent this to Nate as a picture message while he's at work this morning. I'm such a dork.

I sent this to Nate as a picture message while he's at work this morning. I'm such a dork.

I guess I should get moving today. I’ve done nothing today except eat breakfast and decorate a paper towel! Time to get my slow moving self up and doing something productive.

