The past few days, I’ve been a bit of a slacker with my exercise. I’ve been doing some informal exercise, but not enough to make up for the lapse in my regular workouts. I’ve done some dog walking, some other walking, etc. but I know it’s not been the kind of exercise that will get me results. As I’ve been struggling with my weight, and watching the scale not budge, I’ve found my motivation waning a bit, so today, I decided to set a new challenge for myself today.

The goal: my first 15 minute uninterrupted run since my black belt training.

The result: I stepped off the treadmill, soaked, and with a grin that won’t go away.

IMG00177

I was so proud, I had to take a picture! (Nevermind the poor quality- it was taken with my cell phone) I have to admit, though, that there was a 2 minute walk break in the middle, and during the second half (after I accomplished my 15 minute goal) where I had to step off the treadmill to change the music a couple of times. I’ve lost my cable for my mp3 player, so I had brought the laptop downstairs to listen to music from it. Can’t do without my music. I’m such an addict that as soon as I realized that I couldn’t find the cable, I promptly got on ebay and ordered another. Hopefully it’ll come in in the next few days.

Other stats of note:

  • avg HR: 156
  • max HR: 176
  • burn: 389

The best part, though, was the change in my heart rate over the past couple of months. When I first started running, my average HR and max HR were a full 20 bpm higher than now, and the most amazing part was that during those quick breaks to change the music, my HR dropped back down SOOOO quickly. I was amazed. Obviously, making such an increase in my time was definitely pushing myself, but I really don’t think I overexerted myself. In fact, I feel great! I was amazed at how easy it was, and I could go again already… or maybe that’s just endorphins and adrenaline and such. Either way, I definitely think that taking a few days off helped me. I was worried that going back to the treadmill today, I would be dragging myself through a torturous workout and feel halfway dead at the end, but instead, I think that it gave my body a much needed break to heal up from how I was pushing it.

So today, I run because I love the feeling that challenging my body gives me.

