Today has been a pretty good day. I have been watching some TV, doing some laundry, and trying to get a little bit of cleaning done around the house. I absolutely hate housework. I can always think of a million other things I should be doing, and even when I’m on summer break, I can think of a million other things I want to be doing. Today, the TV is tempting me away from my housework. And then I’m also thinking I need to get a workout in this evening. Right now, even cooking is taking me away from the cleaning. I feel like I’m the 7 year old again, asking “Do I have toooooooooo?”

I’ve also been asking myself “do I have to” about something else. I have been tending back toward counting calories lately, and obsessing over those numbers, and using them as a basis for how many calories I “need” to burn during my workouts. Thus, working out is becoming a chore, because there’s a number in my head I have to hit, and until I do, I can’t get off the treadmill. I don’t want that. That’s a pretty miserable way to approach diet and exercise, and I know from experience that I quickly find myself cutting calories so that I don’t have to workout as long, or working out for hours to make up for a minor discretion that put me over my “allowed” calories.

I’ve been reading a lot on some other blogs, and I know that other bloggers have talked about listening to your body’s cues and learning to trust your body. What I see, though, is that those bloggers who are talking about that are at their goal weight. They’re not trying to lose. Could you listen to your body, trust it, and lose weight? Is that possible? I honestly feel like I’m putting undue stress on myself by making it all about numbers, and I can’t help but wonder if it might be worth a try. What I’m doing isn’t working for me, obviously, and I really feel like counting the calories in a slice of canteloupe or 2 slices of tomato isn’t worth “the squeeze.”

