Yesterday I decided to take an “easy” day. I only ran for about 10 minutes, and then I decided to try out a new game Nate had gotten for the Wii. He got the EA Active game. I have been such a skeptic about using the wii for exercise, but I was pleasantly surprised by this game. I wouldn’t rely on it alone for my working out, but I will definitely have to admit that my thighs were burning by the end of the workout. Still, it left me really looking forward to today’s run. I was a little bit shaken up by that- I looked forward to running. Who would have thought it?!!

I think I’m beginning to really love exercise again. That’s really refreshing for me, because for such a long time, it was such a huge part of who I was, and I feel like I have a long lost friend back. Today’s run was awesome.

  • Time: 33:36 (counting a 5 minute warm up and 2 minute cool down)
  • Avg HR: 151
  • Max HR: 177
  • Calories: 380

I would love to know the distance, but since I don’t have a pedometer or anything, and I’m running on the treadmill, I would have to remember to check the distance before I get off, and I never do. I’ll have to make a mental note to do that tomorrow. Regardless of the mileage, I’m thrilled to be moving again. It’s great to have no more foot or ankle pain, and even though progress is slow, it’s still progress.

I was talking to a friend at work earlier today. She’s our school’s speech teacher, but has recently (within the past year) taken up running. She said something that I really hadn’t thought of, but once she said it, I have to agree. Most sports (or other areas of our lives, for that matter) when you say something that is an accomplishment, the response often includes a touch of competitiveness. For example, when I say that I have a martial arts background (yes, I am a black belt), the immediate response is something related to rank. There’s a level of disregard by many if you are less than a black belt, and amongst black belts, while there is an immediate level of respect, there is often (not always) a comparison amongst styles (my style is better than your style, etc.)

Amongst runners, though, there doesn’t seem to be as much of that. There is a definite level of competitiveness on the track/road, but off the track, there is a camaraderie there. As a beginner to any sport, for many of us, there is a feeling that we are somehow lesser than those who have been in it longer. Instead, when the subject of running came up today (with another runner at the table) I made the comment that I was only able to run 5 minutes or so, and the immediate response was that it starts that way for everyone. There was no lessening of what I was able to do. I was met with encouragement, rather than someone telling me what they were able to do. It made me feel like I was more of a runner, to know that even as little as I am able to do, every runner starts there and it builds. I mean, I knew that, but after feeling for so long like maybe I just wasn’t cut out for running, it’s nice to hear that from someone else.

Then to follow that up with a nice run tonight, it really makes me feel good.

And on top of that, I had a friend ask me this afternoon how much weight I have lost lately. It’s not a significant amount, by any means, but the change has not been a scale change. A few pounds, at most. But when I look at my legs and my tummy, I see a definite change. My legs now have some muscle, and my stomach is beginning to flatten out a bit. Mind you, it’s not a huge change, and I’m shocked that she can see it. I can only tell when I’m wearing shorts or a tighter shirt, and I didn’t wear either of those today. Still, I’ll gladly take any change I can get! Scale or not!

