Wow! That was a kick ass workout for sure! Well, it kicked mine, at least. I had to come straight up here afterwards and blog about it. I’m such a dork.

I have really been trying to work on my running. My speed is horrible, but I am so out of shape that I’m worrying about my endurance first. Today was a 30 minute run/walk, and I did actually pick up the pace from where I have been. Here are the stats below:

  • Time: 36:18
  • In zone: 24:52
  • Avg HR: 154
  • Max HR: 176
  • Calories: 420!!!

It was my toughest workout in a while. I know that for a lot of people it would have been easy, but I keep reminding myself… baby steps. I kept wanting to give up or walk for longer, but I kept telling myself to keep on. “You can do anything for one minute.”

It made me think back to when I was doing my training for my black belt test. We would have to hold really tough stances or hold a side kick for 30 seconds to a minute. During that time, my ex would tell me “you can do anything for 30 seconds……………you can do anything for 15 seconds………………..you can do anything for 5 more seconds.” Keeping that goal in mind made the time pass quicker. I felt like I could rest if I could only hold out for that 5 more seconds. During my run today, I kept telling myself the same thing, and it really helped. I had forgotten the power of breaking it down into chunks. I think that even once I’m up to running for longer times, I will still use that strategy to challenge myself to run faster for portions of my run.

I really wanted to put in a Jillian Michaels DVD after the run, but decided since the run was harder than I had planned, I would put the DVD off until tomorrow. Tomorrow will be a much easier run, even though my overall time will probably be longer.

I have also been considering getting my thyroid checked. I have had several people who have known me for years suggest it. They have watched my weight yo-yo, and then get stuck at the highest point. I have been quite a skeptic about the thyroid thing, simply because I’m much quicker to look for what I’m doing wrong. I have a definite tendency to blame myself, and I want to find a way that I can find something that I can fix. Still, after so many people suggesting it to me, I wonder if I shouldn’t at least rule it out.

More to think about. At any rate, I need to go get in the shower.

