I have been craving some veggies all day long. I’m also missing my hubby, but I’m kinda finding a replacement. I’m cheating on him with…………………….. the kitchen.

My husband is a restaurant manager, and he has to close a lot. He actually has the most random schedule of anyone I know. One day he opens… the next he closes. This week, he closes 4 nights in a row, so I have had to find a replacement for our time together. I have decided that this week, I am going to try out some new recipes. I can’t cook, period. I’m terrible. But I sincerely want to get better, and I’m trying to.

Tonight’s experiment: vegetable soup

In the pot

In the pot

In the bowl

In the bowl

I’m so proud. It was incredible. I was on the phone with a friend when I started the soup, and ended up inviting her over for dinner. We both loved it, and between the two of us, we ate all but one bowl of it. The last bowl will be my lunch tomorrow. Yummmmmm!

I used squash, tomatoes, a big bag of frozen veggies, tomato sauce, garbanzo beans, and vegetable broth. I will definitely be making this sometime very soon. I hope all of my kitchen experiments turn out this good!

