I am scared to death about tonight’s dinner. More on that in just a second.

As the title says, I have been spending the morning in the kitchen. I got up pretty early this morning, of my own accord, but that was probably because I was in bed by 8:30 last night. Nate had to be at work at 4:00 this morning, so we when he went to bed, I just went with him. I was pretty exhausted myself, apparently, because I didn’t wake up until 6:15 this morning! Holy cow!

Upon getting up, I promptly started on a green smoothie for breakfast, but this morning’s smoothie looks almost brown. Usually I stick to my familiar peanut butter/banana smoothie because I know 2 things about it: 1) it tastes good, and 2) it keeps me full until lunch time. Since it’s a Saturday, though, I figured that if I didn’t stay full, no biggie, I’ll just have a bowl of cereal for a snack. Usually, being a teacher, I don’t have the luxury of a mid morning snack. So staying full is usually a big deal.

I also knew that I have been looking at a bag of frozen organic strawberries in the freezer for a couple of weeks now, debating with myself over what to use them for. At first, I was wanting to make a vegetarian version of a strawberry pie, which Nate loves. This morning, though, it sounded great in a smoothie. Sorry Nate.

Picture 123

I love the fun glass. This ended up to be a strawberry banana spinach smoothie for 310 calories. It also happens to be quite delicious.

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 10 frozen strawberries
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 banana
  • vanilla almond breeze

I also got a head start on tonight’s dinner. It is inspired by a soup that was served at my school a couple of years ago. Our cafeteria had a different manager then, and we actually had real food back then most days. Our current lunches are mostly pre-packaged, and all fat laden. At any rate, back then, they served once or twice a month the most amazing chicken tortilla soup. At the time, I ate some chicken, so I tried it a couple of times, and I have really been having a craving for it lately. Since I don’t have their recipe, I have done some digging around to try to figure out what to put in. This is a first try, but I think I’ll probably be able to do better after a few more tries.

Picture 127

What I have tried today is incredibly simple. All that is in there is the following:

  • morningstar chik’n strips
  • black beans
  • corn
  • diced tomatoes (canned)
  • vegetable broth (I used 2 cans)
  • taco seasoning

Right now, I have used some packaged taco seasoning because I don’t really know what to use to get the flavor otherwise. I’m sure I could find it somewhere if I looked, but I really don’t know what I’m doing, so I thought I should start easy, and work my way up. I really don’t know how to cook, and I have rarely cooked for Nate, so I’m a nervous wreck about screwing this up. On top of that, I’m kinda adapting a recipe I found online because I don’t like the looks of it. We have the kind of relationship where he will be completely honest about what he thinks, which is good, because it means that usually we both know what mistakes we’re making so that we can fix them, but in this case, it makes me a nervous wreck because if he doesn’t like it, I think I’d rather not know. I already know I don’t know how to cook- I don’t need it confirmed!

Anyway, I’ve been telling him all week long that I wanted to make this soup, and he’s asked me about it every night, so now seems like the time to do it. I was thinking that if I started this morning, and it’s a disaster, I have time to fix my mistakes. And if it turns out ok, then I can reheat it tonight, because soup reheats well anyway.

The more I’m thinking about this, the more I’m worrying. Not good.

