After reading some other blogs (Oh She Glows and Simply Fabulous) I decided to give these green smoothies a try. Having seen the pictures, I expected it to be very green, and it did not disappoint in that department. Below is a before picture. At any rate, my recipe is below.

smoothie-before

  • one banana
  • one apple
  • 2 kale leaves
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt
  • and a little bit of ice

Once “The Hulk” was staring me in the face, I had to gather my courage to take the first sip. I half expected Slimer to come floating by in the next few seconds, but finally I turned the cup up and took a drink.

It was shockingly drinkable. I will probably make a few changes to it (maybe a little bit less ice, less apple… possibly strawberry or orange instead) but it made a surprisingly tasty and very filling breakfast. I had it on my way to school at 7:00, and by 11:45 (when my class goes to lunch) I was just beginning to get hungry.

Lunch was exactly as posted yesterday, but in a different order…

  • 11:45 – peanut butter and banana sandwich, rest of the banana, and baked chips
  • 2:30 – apples and a little bit of peanut butter (2 tbsps?)
  • 4:30 – larabar

I’m thinking lentil soup and salad for dinner tonight.

Also, I will post pictures as I pack tomorrow’s lunch.

